Recombobulation Station


The Milwaukee airport has a “Recombobulation” area just past the security zone, where passengers can put their shoes back on, repack their bags after x-ray, and generally recombobulate all their discombobulated baubles. The word is so much fun and the idea so universal, that I want to make a Recombobulation Station in my camp at Burning Man.  The Recombobulation Station will be a shaded seating area where my campmates and I can relax, get ourselves put back together, refresh electrolytes, and maybe rediscover ourselves amidst the chaos. 

I already have the shade area, chairs, foot baths, and cup holders.  Now, I need a sign!  I have 75 feet of green electroluminescent wire and a deep cycle marine battery to power it (along with all my other LED camp lighting and small sound system).  Now I just need to shape the long EL wire into the words Recombobulation Station, probably using hot glue, wire ties and pegboard. 

Ideally, the sign can be changed to say either Decombobulation or Recombobulation Station with a simple switch between two sections of EL wire.  The electroluminescent wire will be visible at night, but I would need to paint the pegboard underneath the wire so that the words are legible in daylight.  I have some nice phosphorescent paint that will do the trick.

This is all just an idea and a plan right now.  And a plan is the first step towards not doing anything.

About Christin

I build robots as a hobby and I work with software as my career. Last year I mentored a FIRST Robotics team, Team XBot. I worked at Microsoft for 11 years in such roles as developer tech support, Developer Evangelist, and Program Manager in Visual Studio.
This entry was posted in Lighting Project, Make: and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

